New to forum: Urologist wants to start Maintenance BCG with my Dad ...

16 years 7 months ago #7828 by wsilberstein
Dear Nean,
    Even when the doctor is conscientious, we have to remember that he/she has many patients to be concerned about, and we have just our loved ones about whom we remember the smallest details. I always appreciate it when patients remind me to take care of things because sometimes something gets moved to the back burner for more pressing problems, and then I might forget. And then, in some offices it's up to staff who may be overwhelmed and not appreciate the significance of some delays. And unfortunately, some physicians simply aren't conscientious.
    When my mother had leukemia, I had to keep after the doctor's office constantly for every detail. My mother loved her oncologist, but my sister was ready to string the doctor up from the nearest tree. I tried to mediate and keep things moving smoothly because as a physician I could understand how things sometimes go awry, but after that experience I wondered how any patients manage without somebody advocating for them.

-Warren
TaG3 + CIS 12/2000. TURB + Mitomycin C (No BCG)
Urethral stricture, urethroplasty 10/2009
CIS 11/2010 treated with BCG. CIS 5/2012 treated with BCG/interferon
T1G3 1/2013. Radical Cystectomy 3/5/2013, No invasive cancer. CIS in right ureter.
Incontinent. AUS implant 2/2014. AUS explant 5/2014
Pediatrician

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

16 years 7 months ago #7827 by Nean
Stephany,
Thank you so much for your kind words! I appreciate the hug, believe me! I recently (in July) finally was able to get both of my parents into a geriatric specialty practice. I do hope this doctor will be more "on the ball" than their previous primary-care physician.