Tumor found in the Ureter

1 month 1 week ago - 1 month 1 week ago #60741 by NelsJenn
Tumor found in the Ureter was created by NelsJenn
Dear Forum Members, I have been receiving treatment for bladder cancer for about two years. I have gone through 2 TURBTs where and 7 BCG infusions. My bladder has responded positively to these treatments and my bladder is presently tumor free.

Recently, I had an MRI where a thickening of the ureter wall was found. After a ureteroscopy, a tumor was identified. My doctor took out a tissue sample and pathology will determine if the tumor is low grade or high grade at this point. 

If it's a high grade tumor, my urologist is recommending that my left ureter and kidney should be removed. I don't believe this is a typical bladder cancer progression. Am I correct? QUESTIONS: Is this something unrelated to bladder cancer? Perhaps, ureter cancer is just considered separate from bladder cancer (independent in itself)? Has anyone out there experience this?

If it's low grade tumor, my urologist is recommending a series of ureteroscopies  to remove the tumor and to "keep an eye" on the ureter for possible future tumors. Moreover, a stent is to be inserted to keep the ureter from closing. Also, my urologist is asking me to consider just removing the left ureter and kidney, in order to avoid the ureteroscopies procedures and prevent the possibility of future tumors which may be high grade ones. 

I have not found a lot of  information about tumors in the ureter from bladder cancer on this forum by doing a simple search. That is why I believe this is not a typical bladder cancer progression. Am I doing the search incorrectly? Does anyone here have experience with this ureter tumor issue? 

Much appreciation for any feedback, Lee

Bladder Cancer - Non-Invasive 2019
High Grade - T1
2 TURBT - 2019
9 BCG Infusions - 2019
Ureter Tumor Discovered - 2021
The following user(s) said Thank You: swarmy2007