need input!! plz.....

15 years 10 months ago #17173 by slabman
Replied by slabman on topic need input!! plz.....
I just got over my urinary tract infection, winding up taking Bactrim to kill it off. So when I went in for treatment #4, there was a question on whether I could do it with the Bactrim in my system. The Doc finally said to go ahead, but he did NOT want me taking it again...or Cipro either. I guess the thought is it will kill off the virus they are introducing with the BCG. Seems to make sense, but we really do need to watch those infections. I still have some Bactrim on hand and will use it the instant I get another infection. Don't want to go through that again.

Bob
T1 G3
Age 66
DX April 2008
TURB April 2008
Last BCG (#15) April 2009

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

15 years 10 months ago #17168 by sara.anne
Replied by sara.anne on topic need input!! plz.....

Am two weeks past my 6th BCG...so I am now an expert!! Anyway, they always checked my urine before the BCG. In addition to being sure that I wasn't bleeding or showing signs of infection, the nurse said that they can also get an idea of how the bladder might be reacting from signs of cellular debris. They did not give me antibiotics. If there was any sign of infection (was once) they postponed the BCG for a week until it was treated.

Sara Anne

Diagnosis 2-08 Small papillary TCC; CIS
BCG; BCG maintenance
Vice-President, American Bladder Cancer Society
Forum Moderator

15 years 10 months ago #17167 by sarahlee
Replied by sarahlee on topic need input!! plz.....