day 6, Gene Beane, going home

16 years 6 months ago #8212 by Mike
Replied by Mike on topic day 6, Gene Beane, going home
Eileen Hopkins is a great hospital and so is Dr.Shoenberg, but your date is already set up but I went to Univ of Penn to see Dr. Malkowicz both great hospitals and both great surgeons. I was a trucker so a 2 and a half hr ride ain't crap but to me why take that extra distance when you got a great hospital right where we are. I'm was very happy with Penn got excellent treatment, I have nothing but good to say about everyone that works there from the janitor to the top dog and I saved money on gas and the biggest part I am cancer free as of now. Well to where ever you go good luck. Joe ;)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

16 years 6 months ago #8201 by Patricia
Replied by Patricia on topic day 6, Gene Beane, going home
Eileen....don't be scared...you're at the #1 BC facility in the nation with Dr. Mark Shoenberg. Your husband will be in excellent care. I don't know how to be prepared for all the possibilities but all i wanted was the love and support of my husband...thats really all you need to do. You don't have to be the nurse, or the aide ...you may have to find one however...i know of no hospital that is completely staffed with nurses...they say they are...but they lie. Just be his advocate...speak up if you have to. Its a rough couple of days after surgery for the patient and no two patients are alike nor do they react to medications the same way. Most likely everything will be under control..if something seems unusual let them know. But you're in a great place....don't panic. Pat

16 years 6 months ago #8195 by mikeg
Replied by mikeg on topic day 6, Gene Beane, going home
ginger - you are scaring the shit out of me. my husband got his surgery date - nov. 5th at hopkins. does anyone have anything to say to me about hopkins? i want to be prepared for all possibilities, not that that's possible!