cisplatin

3 years 3 months ago #60371 by joea73
Replied by joea73 on topic cisplatin
Thanks for the confirmation and some background. I might have seen it but the clinical directory said it was only offered at the University of Utah, so I did not think it was being offered at Moffitt.

My background is in computer science and electrical engineering. I moved to sales and business development later in my career till I retired. I did a lot of business analysis. I was diagnosed with BCa 3 years ago. I have been running a local bladder cancer support group for 2.5 years, mostly learning from the participants. I did not even know even the anatomy of my own bladder till I was diagnosed with BCa. Just as other many patients, I have been learning mostly from Professor Google.

This is my perspective. It may sound like a sales pitch.

1. Your husband can withdraw from the program even in the middle of the program it becomes too hard.
2. Your husband had passed the inclusion criteria.
The immune system is working. The blood counts are normal.
The liver is functioning normally.
The kidneys are functioning normally.
3. Your husband had passed the exclusion criteria.
The oncologist does not consider that your husband has active co-morbidity which is severe enough to exclude him from the trial.
So, the oncologist thinks your husband can bear the treatment with the help of known drugs for side effects if required.

4. You mentioned that you have to drive 6 hours. I am concerned about how you manage the frequency of visiting the hospital while your husband is on the program.

4.1 I think every treatment, testing your husband receives is free. Immunotherapy drug costs $10K to $15K per treatment.