Urinary frequency: - post-operative cystectomy

16 years 10 months ago #5280 by timb
I get about 6 or 7 now and am becoming a bit of an expert at going back to sleep after I waken to empty my bladder. funnily enough, about a month ago I seemed to have the nighttime continence under control more but now its gone back again to nighttime wetness. I think the changes that I've made in my daily life, even the small ones, have a profound effect on this. Now Ive started working I go to the loo more (probably to minimise the chances of an accident) and this has trained my brain back into bad habits at night. I think I need to get back to a 3 hour emptying schedule again. I also think I need to cut down on the coffee as this stimulates the kidneys too much. I think a cup a day should be my new limit.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

16 years 10 months ago #5279 by bknight
I'm not new to this. I had sergury just about 2 years ago and I'm still learning to deal with it. I was getting about 3 to 4 hours of sleep each night. I good during the day period but at night it's a different story all together. I've come up with a pretty good solution at the present time though. I use a leg bag and a freedom cathiter, plus something to keep me asleep. Now I get about 7 to 8 hours of sleep.
I was also told to hold the fluid to strech the new bladder, which I did. It turned out that my bladder grew to large and I now have to self catherize every 4 to 5 hours. I also take an antibiotic once a day to keep the bacteria down. You might check this out with your doctor, it has improved my energy level also. I hope this might be of some help, I just thought I'd pass it along.

16 years 11 months ago #4667 by timb
Hi again Kathy