scared, concerned for my dad....

13 years 2 months ago #35919 by alanjay
Replied by alanjay on topic scared, concerned for my dad....
Gina,
I am a newbie myself. I have had Bladder Cancer over 2 years but until 6 mo ago, I was stage 1 and had 2 scrapings only. after I had CT was upgraded to stage 2. was referred to Cleveland Clinic where they sat on their hands.
I went to Holy Cross because my primary care physician practices there. I was admitted by her for an unrelated matter. She got me my Urologist and Oncologist. I saw them both as an inpatient and had extensive testing. I was upgraded to stage 3. Just had PET scan and will have results on Monday. My chemo was postponed because the urologist is doing one more scraping before I start the chemo. I was told it will be once a week for 2 hours for 14 weeks when I start. I will give you updates if you want.

The purpose of my first letter was to let you know how important you are in your fathers care and how how much better he must feel knowing how much you care and how much you are doing for him.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

13 years 2 months ago #35914 by ginagrothe
Replied by ginagrothe on topic scared, concerned for my dad....
How is your treatment at Holy Cross? How many weeks of chemo have you had? See my message below and tell me what you think....

My father has gone through 3 weeks of chemo so far and has stage 4 bladder cancer, in bladder and lymph. He met with Dr. today from University of Miami for review and to hopefully have his surgery scheduled. The Dr. told him that he will not do surgery if the cancer is in his lymph....the chemo has to rid the cancer in the lymph before he can do surgery. "He wouldnt put him through surgery because the cancer will just come back if it is in his lymph"

I thought during surgery they remove bladder, prostate and lymph??? Not according to this Dr. I even asked the oncologist last week and she said they remove bladder and lymph nodes.