New to Website New Diagnosis

16 years 10 months ago #5425 by wendy
Replied by wendy on topic New to Website New Diagnosis
Rick wrote, "My respect and awe is with you for battling breast cancer for seven years. Is the “fear” that cancer will come back always with you? " >

I wouldn't say I've been battling cancer for 7 years, as I've been cancer free since surgery/radiation and all the drugs. I've known others who have seriously battled and fought back much worse things than what I have been through, it's all relative.

>"Is there ever a time that a person with bladder cancer does not have cancer on their mind?<"

Yes, of course. But usually not for too long, priorities change. Outlooks change. The constant follow ups keep you humble

Your idea of giving your doctor a bonus is a good one, but I bet your long term, cancer free survival will make him happy enough. It must be a tough job, oncology.

Take care,
Wendy

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

16 years 10 months ago #5423 by Patricia
Replied by Patricia on topic New to Website New Diagnosis
Hi Rick......I'm guessing you're going to be just fine after cystectomy...your bladder cancer has not invaded the muscle so chances are your nodes will also be clean. Make sure you have a surgeon who does nerve sparing cystectomy. Do you know how many of these your surgeon has done? Thats important. You want someone who does this on a regular basis .
Its a tough surgery...but you're young. You'll bounce back quickly. 8 weeks might be pushing it a bit...you've got to train your new neo-bladder.
Pat

16 years 10 months ago #5422 by RAH
Replied by RAH on topic New to Website New Diagnosis
Wendy,