Recurrent high grade bladder cancer

5 years 1 month ago - 5 years 1 month ago #57030 by Busymom123
Replied by Busymom123 on topic Recurrent high grade bladder cancer
Sara Anne I’m a nurse and also a cancer patient myself (not bladder cancer).

I know that they stain these cells very specifically and that the identification here in a cytology wash sample is no different than using pathology to identify a cancer. They are using the same techniques.

I believe the false positives are when they are calling cells suspicious or something along those lines. Not a definitive diagnosis of what the cell actually is.

Jack I truly appreciate your response. We are actively looking now for the best doctor possible. Many thanks.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

5 years 1 month ago #57027 by Jack R
Replied by Jack R on topic Recurrent high grade bladder cancer
Busymom123

While you describe a strange set of circumstances that cannot provide any sort of conclusion, one possible answer to your question comes to mind.

Cytology - examining urine for cancer cells is not specific to the bladder. Cancer cells from the ureters and renal pelvis (kidneys), if any cancer IS there, will also be found. Upper urinary tract cancer can produce a properly positive finding of cancer by cytology, yet there may be NO cancer in the bladder (at least) at the present time.

It may well be time for a fresh opinion from a trusted provider with no prior baggage. Try a university medical school, or consider any of the NIH-NIC Designated Cancer Centers. link to the list is below.

www.cancer.gov/research/nci-role/cancer-centers/find

Best,
Jack

6/2015 HG Papillary & CIS
3 Years and 30 BCG/BCG+Inf
Tis CIS comes back.
BC clear as of 5/17 !
RCC found in my one & only kidney 10/17
Begin Chemo; Cisplatin and Gemzar
8/18 begin Chemo# 3
Begin year 4 with cis
2/19 Chemo #4
9/19 NED again :)
1/2020 CIS is back
Tried Keytruda, stopped by side effects
Workin on a new plan for 2021