Radiation treatment

5 years 2 months ago #56655 by Cynthia
Replied by Cynthia on topic Radiation treatment
Skip, I am not a doctor of any kind let alone a urology. And there is no way for us to know your personal situation. But...... your post left me confused and or concerned. Radiation is rarely used in bladder cancer and only then if invasive in specific situations. As Allan said it can cause damage to cells and complicate things if you would later need a cystectomy. I would highly suggest that you seek a second opinion university hospitals are often good places to look. Please keep us updated.

Cynthia Kinsella
T2 g3 CIS 8/04
Clinical Trial
Chemotherapy & Radiation 10/04-12/04
Chemotherapy 3/05-5/05
BCG 9/05-1-06
RC w/umbilical Indiana pouch 5/06
Left Nephrectomy 1/09
President American Bladder Cancer Society

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

5 years 2 months ago #56654 by sara.anne
Replied by sara.anne on topic Radiation treatment
Hello, Skip....
Do you have a copy of your most recent pathology report? I wonder if the diagnosis from your most recent biopsy might be CIS (carcinoma in situ) which shows up as a rash on the bladder lining rather than as a tumor? The absolute best treatment for this is BCG. Radiation is not usually the treatment of choice for bladder cancer since, as Alan mentioned, the resulting damage to the bladder can make any additional treatments or surgery difficult.

We have heard that once again we are facing shortages of BCG and, unfortunately there is only one supplier for it. I would suggest that you seek a consultation with another urologist in a medical school or a large urban center before considering radiation.

Sara Anne

Diagnosis 2-08 Small papillary TCC; CIS
BCG; BCG maintenance
Vice-President, American Bladder Cancer Society
Forum Moderator

5 years 2 months ago #56652 by Skipinmexico
Replied by Skipinmexico on topic Radiation treatment