Indiana poch

7 years 2 months ago #52585 by Cynthia
Replied by Cynthia on topic Indiana poch
I am not a doctor all I can tell you is what I have observed. My pouch is 8 I know a woman who has on that is I believe 17 out of RC plus the people I see here. I have never known anyone who has has the problems you are asking about. That doesn't mean they don't exist. I will tell you a story I talked to three of the tops in the country before my RC. I am very allergic to tape a bandaid will peel the skin off of me in a few hours so I was very worried about wearing an external bag. One did not like anything besides the external bag and did not have a good word for neo's or Indianas. I knew he was not my surgeon due to the fact that he did a high volume of RC's but they were all doing the same type of diversion. The second and third told me that I was not a candidate for a neo due to spread to the ureathia. But that they would be happy to do either for me. The third did a very high volume of Indiana's and liked them, I chose him. My advice is this get a second opinion and then make your informed decision. There are pros and cons with all diversions none are perfect but what ever you chose you will get used to it and find your new normal.

Cynthia Kinsella
T2 g3 CIS 8/04
Clinical Trial
Chemotherapy & Radiation 10/04-12/04
Chemotherapy 3/05-5/05
BCG 9/05-1-06
RC w/umbilical Indiana pouch 5/06
Left Nephrectomy 1/09
President American Bladder Cancer Society

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

7 years 2 months ago #52584 by DannieC
Replied by DannieC on topic Indiana poch