Waiting for the TUR !

13 years 10 months ago #32256 by mmc
Replied by mmc on topic Waiting for the TUR !
Kenneth,

Always feel free to speak your mind here. That's why we exist.
I sometimes come on pretty strong but that's because I've seen what happens with a number of folks who have come to the forum over the years. My first diagnosis was in 2006 so I have spent a lot of time learning all I can. Compared to some, I'm still a newbie.

We push hard on getting to the top doctors because we've seen folks who don't die needlessly. Getting the best doctor you can means better outcomes. Since you already set up for MD Anderson, you are doing the right thing. The surgeons there are going to be significantly more experienced than your urologist (no matter what his receptionist says). The pathologists at MD Anderson also specialize in bladder cancer and are better at determining if there were complete margins.

Right now, for you, it is about you. Later, hopefully, you will be coming back here to help others who find themselves in the situation you are in now.

I wish you the absolute best outcome and I do know that the highest statistical probability of that happening is at MD Anderson.

Mike

Age 54
10/31/06 dx CIS (TisG3) non-invasive (at 47)
9/19/08 TURB/TUIP dx Invasive T2G3
10/8/08 RC neobladder(at 49)
2/15/13 T4G3N3M1 distant metastases(at 53)
9/2013 finished chemo -cancer free again
1/2014 ct scan results....distant mets
2/2014 ct result...spread to liver, kidneys, and lymph...

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

13 years 10 months ago #32253 by Kenneth
Replied by Kenneth on topic Waiting for the TUR !