Home Forums All Categories Muscle Invasive Bladder Cancer 2nd Opinion from Cleveland Clinic?

  • 2nd Opinion from Cleveland Clinic?

    Posted by harleygirl on July 10, 2008 at 11:00 pm

    Has anyone used the second opinion option from Cleveland Clinic where you sign up online and send in your records/scans/reports for a doctor there to give you a second opinion? It is not cheap, I think it costs $745 total if you also need a pathologist to read your slides. They never examine you but just go by what the records you send them show.

    I was just wondering if anyone has used this service and if so, were you pleased with the process?

    Thanks

    cynthia replied 16 years ago 3 Members · 3 Replies
  • 3 Replies
  • cynthia

    Administrator
    July 11, 2008 at 1:09 am

    Here is the link to two more online second opinion consulting services. I do know others that have used such services to their benefit. The caliber of the institutions is impressive with Cleveland Clinic and the others that follow. I would call my insurance it is possible that they will pay for this as a second opinion. If you will notice there is the options of either direct patient contact of having your doctor communicate with them. Both can have benefits depending on your situation.

    John Hopkins Pathology will fax results in a few days

    http://pathology2.jhu.edu/bladder_cancer/consults.cfm

    Partners Health Care in association with Brigham’s and Woman’s Hospital, Massachusetts General Hospital, Dana Farber Partners Cancer Care teaching affiliates of Harvard Medical School

    https://econsults.partners.org/v2/(pn2pgi45bkiwiyieewojj255)/default.aspx


    Cynthia Kinsella
    T2 g3 CIS 8/04
    Clinical Trial
    Chemotherapy & Radiation 10/04-12/04
    Chemotherapy 3/05-5/05
    BCG 9/05-1-06
    RC w/umbilical Indiana pouch 5/06
    Left Nephrectomy 1/09
    President American Bladder Cancer Society
  • Harleygirl

    Member
    July 10, 2008 at 11:30 pm

    Thanks, Patricia. I would greatly appreciate that.

  • Guest
    July 10, 2008 at 11:14 pm

    Rickee….i have not but i will email Dr. Gill and see what he thinks…he’s head of urology so i would trust his thoughts on this…….Pat

Log in to reply.